Combined Cadet Force (CCF)

    Hurst's Combined Cadet Force (CCF) encompasses the Royal Navy, Army and Air Force divisions.

    Taking part in the CCF promotes personal responsibility, leadership and self-discipline. It is compulsory for all Remove (Year 10) students to take part in one of the CCF divisions, and is then optional in subsequent years up to the Sixth Form.


    Royal Navy division

    The Royal Navy division involves adventurous training in water sports, field days, leadership skills and can include life guarding.



    Army division

    The Army division involves students taking part in drills, field craft and first aid training.




    Royal Air Force (Air Cadets)

    The Royal Air Force division, also known as Air Cadets, is an exciting and challenging experience for those students interested in aviation and flying.


    The Hurst CCF is one of 260 school contingents and is an educational partnership between the college and the Ministry of Defence. We are proud of our CCF which is one of the oldest in the country. Hurst College was one of the first six schools in England to found a corporation in 1860, and the only public school corporation in Sussex for 36 years.

    In This Section