Boys Cricket

    Cricket is the major sport for boys in the Summer term. Hurst has a strong cricket history and has had success at all age levels. Fixtures take place every Saturday and also mid-week. We have a very competitive fixture list and play teams across the south east of England.

    Master in Charge: Nick Creed (Level 3 ECB Coach) -

    Cricket Performance Manager: Jimmy Anyon (Level 3 ECB Coach) -

    Cricket Professionals:
    Phil Hudson (Level 4 ECB Coach) and Mark Nash (Level 4 ECB Coach)


    All teams are coached by one of our ECB qualified coaches. Three are qualified to level 2, four to level 3 and two at level 4.


    We run the following teams: four Seniors (A-D), three U15 (A-C), three U14 (A-C).

    Fixtures and tournaments

    Fixtures take place every Saturday and also mid-week. We also compete in block fixtures against Whitgift, RGS Guildford and Eastbourne College, amongst others.

    Our 1st XI participate in the National Schools' T20 tournament and the Langdale Trophy, which is the Sussex Schools T20 competition. 
    Our U15A team compete in the Blackshaw Bowl Sussex Schools T20 competition and the County Cup.
    Our U14A team compete in both the Holdsworth T20 Cup and the Sussex Lord's Taverners competition.

    Tours and pre-season

    Tours are run on a cycle with the other major sports and include national and overseas destinations. Previous tours include: Cape Town 2018 and 2014, Dubai 2009, Malta 2007, India 2002.

    The winter training program, run by Performance Manager Jimmy Anyon, starts from September and includes both squad training and one-to-one coaching. We also run a pre-season program of fixtures in the weeks leading into the Summer term.



    1st XI National Schools T20

    Champions 2015
    South-East Regional Final 2017, 2014

    1st XI Langdale Trophy, Sussex T20

    Winners 2016, 2015, 2013
    Finalists 2017, 2012, 2010
    Semi-finalists 2014

    1st XI Woodard Schools Cricket Festival

    Winners 2015, 2014, 2012, 2011, 2009

    U15A Blackshaw Bowl, Sussex T20

    Winners 2018, 2014
    Finalists 2013, 2012

    Semi-finalists 2015

    ESCA National quarter-finalists/Sussex winners 2018

    U14A Lord's Taverners, Sussex T20

    Winners 2018, 2013, 2011
    Finalists 2012

    Roll of honour

    George Garton: Sussex CCC & England Lions
    Tim Moses: Sussex CCC
    Tom Haines: Sussex CCC 
    Will Collard: Sussex CCC Academy
    Jack Carson: Sussex CCC Academy
    Freddie Longley: London and South East U15
    Jonty Jenner: Jersey and Sussex CCC Academy
    Daniel Doram: Holland and Sussex CCC Academy
    Jack Parsons: England U19
    Leo Cammish: Leicestershire CCC
    James Wilkes-Green: Guernsey U19 & Durham MCCU
    Bradley Gayler: Loughborough MCCU
    Jamie Thompson: Oxford MCCU
    Ross Whyte: Sussex CCC Fast Bowling Development Group
    Joe Ludlow: Warwickshire U19 and Bedfordshire CCC
    Joseph Gilligan: Sussex U17

    Our latest Tweets @HurstSport
      In This Section